ماذا لو أدركت أنك ارتكبت خطأً في إقراراتك الضريبية بعد شهور أو سنوات من تقديمها? لا تُصب بالذعر. لحسن الحظ, توفر خدمة الإيرادات الداخلية وقتًا لتقديم إقرار ضريبي معدل باستخدام نموذج 1040-X. لنفترض أنك تدرك أنك لم تطالب بحالة التسجيل الصحيحة, أو أدخلت دخلاً غير صحيح, الخصومات, أو الإعفاءات الضريبية - يمكنك تقديم إقرار معدل حتى 3 بعد سنوات من تاريخ تقديمك الأصلي (أو في الداخل 2 سنوات من دفع الضرائب المستحقة . . . أيهما في وقت لاحق).


أخطاء لا تتطلب إقرار ضريبي معدل

أخطاء رياضية أو كتابية
إذا ارتكبت خطأ رياضيًا أو كتابيًا بسيطًا - وليس خطأً في المطالبة بمبلغ غير صحيح -مصلحة الضرائب من المحتمل أن يكتشف هذا الخطأ عند معالجة عودتك. نتيجة ل, قد لا تضطر إلى تقديم إقرار معدل.

نماذج أو جداول مفقودة
كما أنه ليس من الضروري تقديم إقرار معدل إذا نسيت إرفاق نموذج أو جدول زمني معين بإقرارك الضريبي. ستتصل بك IRS عن طريق البريد إذا احتاجوا إلى معلومات إضافية لإصلاح هذه الأخطاء. ومع ذلك, يجب عليك تقديم إقرار معدل إذا غيّرت المشكلة حالة التسجيل الخاصة بك, الإيرادات, الخصومات, أو الاعتمادات.


أسباب تقديم الإقرار الضريبي المعدل

هناك عدة أسباب لتعديل إقرارك الضريبي, بما فيها:

  1. لقد تلقيت W-2 آخر أو بيان الدخل بعد تقديمك للضرائب
    أرباب العمل والشركات مطلوبة, بموجب القانون, لإرسال كافة بيانات الدخل, مثل W-2s و 1099, بحلول يناير 31. ومع ذلك, في بعض الأحيان لا يحدث ذلك. إذا تلقيت ملف دبليو -2 لوظيفة شغلتها لبضعة أسابيع فقط أو بيان فائدة لحساب مصرفي منسي منذ فترة طويلة, حتى لو كان المبلغ في النموذج هو بضع مئات من الدولارات فقط, لا يزال من الممكن أن يؤثر على مسؤوليتك الضريبية. تتوقع IRS منك الإبلاغ عن كل دخلك لهذا العام. في هذا الوضع, من الأفضل تقديم إقرار ضريبي معدل.
  1. لم تطالب برصيد أو خصم كنت مؤهلاً لتلقيه
    عدة اعتمادات وخصومات فوق الخط (تلك التي لا يتعين عليك تفصيلها لأخذها) يمكن أن تساعدك على خفض فاتورتك الضريبية. فمثلا, حساب توفير صحي (مساهمة HSA) أو فائدة قرض الطالب. إذا كنت مؤهلاً للحصول على واحدة ولا تطالب بها, يمكن أن تترك المال على الطاولة. قد يسمح لك تقديم إقرار ضريبي معدل بالمطالبة بهذه الأموال.
  1. لقد أخطأ صاحب العمل في W-2 وأرسل لك مستندًا مصححًا
    في بعض الأحيان يرتكب الأشخاص والشركات أخطاء. إذا ارتكب صاحب العمل خطأ في W-2 الخاص بك, يجب أن يرسل لك نموذجًا مصححًا. سيعرض W-2C الجديد المعلومات التي تم الإبلاغ عنها مسبقًا بجوار المعلومات الصحيحة لإعلامك بما يحتاج إلى التحديث. إذا تم تغيير الأرقام وقمت بالفعل بتقديم الإقرار باستخدام W-2 غير الصحيح, يجب عليك تقديم تعديل.
  1. لقد نسيت الإبلاغ عن الدخل من الحفلة الجانبية
    لنفترض أنك عملت في حفلة جانبية ولكنك لم تدرك أنه يتعين عليك الإبلاغ عن الدخل الإضافي في إقرارك الضريبي الفيدرالي أو نسيت. سوف ترسل لك مصلحة الضرائب ملف إشعار CP2000 لإبلاغك أن معلومات مصلحة الضرائب في الملف لا تتطابق مع ما أبلغت عنه في إقرارك الضريبي. في هذه الحالة, ربما تكون قد دفعت ضرائب أقل من اللازم. يُظهر الإشعار الدخل الجانبي الذي نسيت الإبلاغ عنه. إذا كانت المعلومات الواردة في CP2000 صحيحة, لست بحاجة إلى تعديل عائدك ما لم يكن لديك دخل إضافي, الاعتمادات, أو نفقات الإبلاغ. ومع ذلك, إذا كان لديك نفقات تحتاج إلى خصمها, ستحتاج إلى تقديم إقرار معدل. لخصم نفقات الحفلة الجانبية الخاصة بك, املأ الجدول (ج) للعربة الجانبية وقدم ملف 1040X. ستحتاج أيضًا إلى كتابة "CP2000" أعلى العائد المعدل, قم بإرفاقه بنموذج الرد, ثم أرسلها بالبريد إلى مصلحة الضرائب.
  1. لقد استخدمت حالة التسجيل الخاطئة
    ماذا لو تزوجت في نوفمبر, ولكن لأنك كنت عازبًا معظم أيام السنة, افترض زوجك أنه سيتعين عليك تقديم عوائد منفصلة باستخدام حالة تسجيل واحدة? تعتبر مصلحة الضرائب الأمريكية أنك متزوج طوال العام ما دمت تزوجت بحلول شهر ديسمبر 31 من السنة الضريبية. في هذه الحالة, سوف تحتاج إلى تقديم تعديل لتغيير حالة التسجيل الخاصة بك. و, بالنظر إلى المزايا الضريبية للزواج - مثل خصم قياسي أعلى - قد تكون حريصًا على تقديم هذا الإقرار المعدل.
  1. يريد والداك مطالبتك باعتبارك معتمدًا على ضرائبهم, لكنك طلبت بالفعل إعفاء شخصي
    لقد قدمت ضرائبك قبل فعل والديك وطالبا بإعفاء شخصي, لكن والديك أرادوا مطالبتك باعتبارك معتمدًا على ضرائبهم. عندما فعلت الضرائب الخاصة بك, لم تحدد المربع في النموذج 1040 تقول أن شخصًا آخر يمكن أن يدعي أنك معال. الآن لا يمكن لوالديك مطالبتك باعتبارك معتمداً على ضرائبهم. إذا كان والداك مؤهلين لمطالبتك بضرائبهم, وأنت توافق على ذلك, ستحتاج إلى تقديم تعديل.
  1. طالب شخص آخر بطفلك في الإقرار الضريبي
    قد ترفض مصلحة الضرائب الأمريكية عودتك إذا كنت أنت وشريكك السابق (أو أي شخص آخر) قد ادعت بالفعل أن طفلك معال. يمكن لواحد فقط منكم المطالبة بطفلك باعتباره معالًا للتأهل للحصول على إعفاءات ضريبية معينة مثل الائتمان الضريبي للأطفال. لأغراض مصلحة الضرائب, يمكن للوالد الذي عاش معه الطفل لأكثر من نصف العام والذي قدم أكثر من نصف إعالة الطفل المطالبة بالائتمان الضريبي للطفل. إذا كان بإمكانك أنت وحبيبك السابق الاتفاق على أنه يجب أن تكون الشخص الذي يدعي أن طفلك معال, سيحتاج حبيبك السابق إلى تقديم طلب عودة معدل لإزالة طفلك كمُعال. إذا كنتما لا تستطيعان الاتفاق, سيتم تطبيق مصلحة الضرائب قواعد التعادل عند تحديد من سيطالب بالطفل.

كم من الوقت يتعين عليك تعديل الإقرار الضريبي المعدل?

منذ الموعد النهائي لتقديم ملف 2021 الضرائب هذا العام كان أبريل 18, 2022, لديك حتى أبريل 18, 2025 لتقديم عائد معدل إذا أدركت أنك ارتكبت خطأ. ومع ذلك, يمكنك تقديم عوائد معدلة للضرائب المقدمة في 2019 أو في وقت لاحق هذا العام.


يمكن لـ CWF المساعدة في تلبية جميع احتياجاتك الضريبية!

إذا كنت بحاجة إلى مزيد من المعلومات حول تقديم إقرار ضريبي معدل, حملة للأسر العاملة (CWF) استطيع المساعدة! إذا كنت عائلة عاملة أو فردًا في فيلادلفيا, مقاطعة مونتغمري, أو جنوب نيوجيرسي يكسبون أقل من $65,000 كل سنة, يمكنك الحصول مساعدة احترافية مجانية أو SIMPLE IRA. سيساعدك مُعد ضرائب CWF المعتمد من مصلحة الضرائب الأمريكية على التخلص من ضغوط الضرائب والتأكد من استرداد الضريبة التي تستحقها!

What if you realize you made a mistake on your tax returns months or years after filing? Don’t panic. Fortunately, the Internal Revenue Service offers time to file an amended tax return using Form 1040-X. Suppose you realize you didn’t claim the correct filing status, or you entered incorrect income, deductions, or tax credits—you can file an amended return up to 3 years after the date you filed the original (or within 2 years of paying the taxes owed . . . whichever is later).


Mistakes that Don’t Require an Amended Tax Return

Mathematical or Clerical Errors
If you made a simple mathematical or clerical error—not a mistake in claiming the wrong amount—the IRS would likely catch that mistake when processing your return. As a result, you may not have to file an amended return.

Missing Forms or Schedules
It’s also unnecessary to file an amended return if you forgot to attach a particular form or schedule to your tax return. The IRS will contact you by mail if they need additional information to fix these errors. However, you should file an amended return if an issue changes your filing status, income, deductions, or credits.


Reasons to File an Amended Tax Return

There are multiple reasons to amend your tax return, including:

  1. You received another W-2 or income statement after you filed your taxes
    Employers and businesses are required, by law, to send all income statements, like W-2s and 1099s, by January 31. However, sometimes that doesn’t happen. If you received a W-2 for a job that you held for only a few weeks or an interest statement for a long-forgotten bank account, even if the amount on the form is just a few hundred dollars, it could still affect your tax liability. The IRS expects you to report all of your income for the year. In this situation, it’s best to file an amended tax return.
  1. You didn’t claim a credit or deduction you were eligible to receive
    Several credits and above-the-line deductions (ones you don’t have to itemize to take) can help you lower your tax bill. For example, a health savings account (HSA contribution) or student loan interest. If you are eligible for one and don’t claim it, you could be leaving money on the table. Filing an amended tax return could allow you to claim that money.
  1. Your employer made a mistake on your W-2 and sent you a corrected document
    Sometimes people and companies make mistakes. If your employer made an error on your W-2, it would have to send you a corrected form. The new W-2C will display the previously reported information next to the correct information to let you know what needs to be updated. If the numbers changed and you already filed your return using the incorrect W-2, you must file an amendment.
  1. You forgot to report income from a side gig
    Suppose you worked a side gig but didn’t realize you had to report the extra income on your federal income tax return or forgot. The IRS will send you a CP2000 notice to inform you that the IRS’s information on file doesn’t match what you reported on your tax return. In this case, you may have underpaid your taxes. The notice shows the side gig income that you forgot to report. If the information in the CP2000 is correct, you don’t need to amend your return unless you have additional income, credits, or expenses to report. However, if you had expenses that needed to be deducted, you’ll need to file an amended return. To deduct your side-gig expenses, fill out a Schedule C for the side gig and file a 1040X. You will also want to write “CP2000” on top of your amended return, attach it to the response form, then mail it to the IRS.
  1. You used the wrong filing status
    What if you got married in November, but because you were single for most of the year, your spouse assumed you would have to file separate returns using a single filing status? The IRS considers you married for the entire year as long as you wed by December 31 of the tax year. In that case, you will need to file an amendment to change your filing status. And, considering the tax advantages of being married—such as a higher standard deduction—you may be eager to file that amended return.
  1. Your parents want to claim you as a dependent on their taxes, but you already claimed a personal exemption
    You filed your taxes before your parents did and claimed a personal exemption, but your parents wanted to claim you as a dependent on their taxes. When you did your taxes, you didn’t check the box on Form 1040 that says someone else could claim you as a dependent. Now your parents cannot claim you as a dependent on their taxes. If your parents are eligible to claim you on their taxes, and you agree they should, you’ll need to file an amendment.
  1. Someone else claimed your child on their tax return
    The IRS may reject your return if you and your ex (or someone else) have already claimed your child as a dependent. Only one of you can claim your child as a dependent to qualify for certain tax breaks like the child tax credit. For IRS purposes, the parent with whom the child lived for more than half the year and who provided more than half of the child’s support can claim the child tax credit. If you and your ex can agree that you should be the one to claim your child as a dependent, your ex will need to file an amended return to remove your child as a dependent. If the two of you can’t agree, the IRS will apply tie-breaker rules when deciding who will get to claim the child.

How Long Do You Have to Amend an Amended Tax Return?

Since the deadline to file your 2021 taxes this year was April 18, 2022, you have until April 18, 2025 to file an amended return if you realize you made an error. However, you can file amended returns for taxes filed in 2019 or later this year.


CWF Can Help with All Your Tax Needs!

If you need more information on filing an amended tax return, Campaign for Working Families (CWF) can help! If you’re a working family or an individual in Philadelphia, Montgomery County, or Southern New Jersey earning less than $65,000 per year, you can get free professional help at CWF. An IRS-certified CWF tax preparer will help you eliminate the stress of taxes and make sure you get the tax refund you deserve!